Thoughts on couponing… so far:

Coupons NOT accepted at Ralph's.

Sigh.

I admit, I entered the world of couponing a skeptic.

And my feelings haven’t changed yet.

But I have some good reasons why.

Yesterday I went grocery shopping (after probably about six months of getting regular grocery delivery and only stopping at a brick-and-mortar store for the occasional item or to get the hubs the hummus he loves from Whole Paycheck).

Time spent clipping coupons and searching store-specific deals: approximately 45 minutes.

Time spent at the grocery store: 1 hour-ish.

Bill: $137.07

Dollars saved through couponing: $5.

Dollars saved through store-specific deals: $15.09

For me, the couponing just wasn’t worth it. My bill was lower than usual, but this is also due in part to the fact that I didn’t buy any meat (the whole “No-Meat November” thing). I was excited about my dollar off olive oil and tampon coupons (both already marked down at the store), but these two things don’t quite make the effort worthwhile.

Also, I saved a lot more just through store-specific deals, which I already do. I’d rather alter my dinner menus according to what’s on sale than scrounge for coupons.

Plus I had to lug my stuff back on foot (remember–no car), when a nice Safeway delivery guy could’ve just brought it to my kitchen.

But I’m not giving up just yet. Safeway just started some digital couponing system where you can sign into your account (already got one of those) and apply the coupons to your Safeway card. I’m assuming it works for the online shopping as well. So I’m going to give that a go and call it a compromise.

Details of the vegetarian adventure soon to follow…

photo courtesy of weheartit.com

This entry was posted in Give up Take on and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

