I made the bed, I swear! (And Februray’s Give Up/Take On)

I admit I’ve been a lame-o when it comes to updating on my Give Up/Take On project. But I do have some exciting and juicy stuff to share that will hopefully make up for my lameness. (Well, I think it’s exciting and juicy.)

First off, January’s gone pretty well, as far as the project goes. I succeeded in making the bed nearly every day (excluding weekends, of course, because I get to take weekends off). And I think I’ll continue the trend. In fact, it’s got me thinking that I’d like to make a headboard.

Something like this.

Now I just need to find a door.

As for the slouching–remember, that was my “give up”–it’s… going… OK. I mean, I think about it a lot. And try to stop doing it. But MAN it is hard. I’m really conscious of it at work, so I think I’ve gotten better about not slouching at my desk. (I sit on a stool, making it extra difficult.)

So I’d call January’s Give Up/Take On a relative success.

And February? Well, I’ve hesitated telling anyone till now, but I’ve started this personal style blog, you see. I know it seems super conceited and voyeuristic–I suppose it is–but it’s also fun. I’ve been reading a slew of style blogs for a couple of years now, so I thought it was time to start my own. Just something to get the creative juices going, you know?

So for February’s Take On I’m doing something called the 30 for 30 Challenge. (Read about it here.) During this challenge you have to give up shopping for clothes. For 30 days. Doesn’t seem that difficult, does it? Well, it will be. But that’s part of the fun: taking what you already have in your wardrobe and remixing it like mad.

All the clothes I'll be wearing for February.

But that’s not all. February will have a double whammy Give Up/Take On.

Starting tomorrow my friend and I are doing something called the elimination diet. Basically, for 2-4 weeks you eliminate the eight common food allergens and sensitivities:

  • dairy
  • gluten
  • eggs
  • corn
  • peanuts
  • fish/shellfish
  • soy
  • sugar
  • yeast

After the elimination period, you begin to reintroduce the eliminated foods back into your diet, one by one, three days at a time. Through this process, you can discover (or confirm) any food allergies or sensitivities. I’ve had my suspicions about dairy for years, so it’ll be interesting to see what this diet reveals.

OK, got that? February will be a whopper of a month as far as this project goes, but I. Am. Excited.

What are your goals this month?

This entry was posted in Food, Give up Take on and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment