No-Meat November

I’m taking Steph’s suggestion. (Sorry, Jordan. It’d be pretty uncomfortable on the scooter sans pants.)

For the month of November, I’m giving up meat* and taking on couponing. Here’s why:

1. I’ve been pretty lazy about my grocery buying since we’ve started grocery delivery. We have a very specific budget, so I’m always within the allotted amount for groceries, but what if I could save more than my Safeway card specials give me in savings?

2. Because I do delivery, and click through digital aisles instead of browsing physical ones, I rarely read labels (although they are available online, for the most part). I should put some intelligence back in my grocery shopping. So maybe I’ll go back to a brick-and-mortar grocery store for the month of November.

3. I could give up just factory-farmed meat, but why not try vegetarian for a month? I’ve never tried before, so I’ll give it a shot.

4. Couponing doesn’t work so well with online shopping. But now I get the newspaper delivered on Sundays. Meaning I can actually clip coupons. Which means I have to spend the time clipping coupons. But it’ll all pay off, right?

Time to hunt down and try some protein-rich vegetarian dishes.

*I reserve the right to eat meat for Thanksgiving. Why? Because I’ll have a delicious fried turkey in front of me, and I just can’t be that cruel to myself.

This entry was posted in Food, Give up Take on and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to No-Meat November

  1. stephie says:

    i’m excited! i can recommend some blogs for couponing you can subscribe to if you want. but finding them yourself might be part of the process.

Leave a comment